## **Past Presidents Committee**

**Members Present:** Katherine Swanson (Chair), Don Schaffner (Vice Chair), Gary Acuff, James Dickson, Jeffrey Farber, Kathleen Glass, Robert Gravani, Jack Guzewich, Gale Prince and Jenny Scott.

Board/Staff Members Present: Donald Zink and David Tharp.

Meeting Called to Order: 3:30 p.m., Friday July 24, 2015.

Recording Secretary of Minutes: Don Schaffner.

## **Old Business:**

Review and approve 2014 minutes.

Motion by: Jack Guzewich. Second: Robert Gravani. Minutes approved as written.

Matters arising from minutes.

There was no response from National Geographic despite repeated attempts to contact them on food related efforts. David Tharp provided an update on the social media activities of IAFP.

## **New Business:**

Report from IAFP Executive Board – Don Zink.
Don provided an update on the affairs of IAFP.

Gale Prince raised the issue of how to encourage nominations for fellows, especially of those that are <u>not</u> past presidents. This turned to a larger discussion of general mechanisms for encouraging award nominations. Those mechanisms could include engaging the PDG chairs and past award winners.

## **Recommendations to the Executive Board:**

- 1. Approve Don Zink as incoming Vice Chair.
- 2. The Executive Board PDG talking points should include an encouragement of PDG members to encourage award nominations.
- 3. The board should re-evaluate the Nominating Committee selection and operating process to ensure it meets our current needs. Options could include adding Past Presidents to the Committee and terms of office for the Nominating Committee (as with most other IAFP Committees).

Meeting Adjourned: 4:38 p.m.

Next Meeting Date: July 30, 2016, St. Louis, Missouri.

**Chairperson:** Katherine Swanson.