Program Committee

Members Present: Mark Moorman, Kalmia Kniel, Tamara Ford, Laura Brown, Doris D'Souza, Michelle Danyluk, Heidy Den Besten, Martin Duplessis, Janell Kause, Laurie Post, Carrie Rigdon, Manpreet Singh, Tori Stivers, Jarret Stopforth, Benjamin Warren, Pamela Wilger, and Christina Wilson.

Members Absent: Laura Brown.

Outgoing Members Present: Renee Boyer, Yuhuan Chen, Caroline Smith DeWaal, and Peter Taormina.

Staff Present: Tamara Ford.

Number of Attendees: 22.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Tamara Ford.

Meeting Called to Order: 7:30 a.m., Wednesday, July 11, 2019.

The meeting began with introductions. The Outgoing Committee Members Renee Boyer, Yuhuan Chen, Caroline Smith DeWaal, and Peter Taormina were recognized for their service.

Tamara explained the process for the 2019 submissions and the timeline was reviewed.

IAFP 2018 Evaluation – The Committee provided feedback concerning IAFP 2018.

- Speaker substitutions were frequent. Tamara estimated half of the proposed speakers (from the initial proposal submission from October 2017) were replaced.
- The Committee discussed the format of roundtables. The Committee would like to see a session room dedicated to roundtables. More direction for moderators regarding how to properly facilitate is needed.
- Volunteer roles. The Committee should be thinking of others to recommend for mentors, student competition judges and technical session convenors. We'll discuss at the Louisville Program Committee meeting.

Recommendations to the Executive Board:

1. Evaluate start and break times to allow attendees more time at posters and exhibits during morning and afternoon breaks.

Next Meeting: Conference call in late October or early November.

Meeting Adjourned: 8:30 a.m.

Chairperson: Mark Moorman.