## **Constitution and Bylaws Committee**

**Members Present:** Jennifer Quinlan (Vice-Chair), Kathy Glass, William Huntley, Bobby Krishna, Steve Murphy, Jenny Scott, and Caroline Smith DeWaal.

New Members Present: None.

Board/Staff Present: Michelle Danyluk and David Tharp.

Visitors: Basel Al Jaberi and Mohamed Alshamsi.

Number of Attendees: 11.

Meeting Called to Order: 11:05 a.m., Sunday, July 21, 2019.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Jennifer Quinlan.

## **Old Business:**

New Vice Chair: With the election of Michelle Danyluk to Secretary on the Executive Board, she could not complete her second year as Vice Chair of the Committee and Jennifer Quinlan was asked prior to the Annual Meeting to complete Michelle's term as Vice Chair as well as serve as Chairperson of the Committee for the next two years.

Meeting from the 2018 meeting reviewed: Approved unanimously with minor editorial corrections.

Review of 2018 recommendations to the Executive Board: The Executive Board agreed with all recommendations made in 2018 and the Committee agreed that the new statement regarding Roberts Rules of Order included in the 2019–2020 Committee and Professional Development Group Handbook was sufficient and clarified appropriate vote-taking processes for PDGs.

It was also discussed that while the Executive Board agreed with the recommendation to make the list of Award Committees be more consistent with current practices by making the wording more generic so that individual awards are not listed, this has not been done. Therefore it was agreed that this recommendation should be made to the Executive Board again this year.

## **New Business:**

New Vice Chair: Discussion surrounded the idea that there has been an attempt to rotate leadership of the Committee between a representative from industry, academia and government. Based on current membership and who has/ has not already served as Vice Chair/Chair. A motion was made by Caroline Smith DeWaal that Bobby Krishna be nominated as the New Vice Chair, the motion was sec- onded by Kathy Glass and it was unanimously voted that Bobby Krishna be the new Vice Chair of the Constitution & Bylaws Committee. His appointment will be recommended to the Executive Board.

New Committee Members: There was discussion that over the past year or two some members of the committee have left the committee either because of retirement or election to the Executive Board. Therefore the committee would like to invite three individuals, one each from industry, academia and government, to join the committee. Potential IAFP members were identified and will receive an invitation to join the committee from the Chairperson upon approval of new members by the Executive Board.

## **Recommendations to the Executive Board:**

- The list of Award Committees in the Bylaws should be updated to be consistent with current practices. That is, the current list is outdated and removal of actual names of awards and use of more generic wording would allow the Bylaws to be correct regardless of the addition of/or removal of awards.
- 2. Approve invitation of three new members to the committee, one each from industry, academia and govern- ment, to replace committee members who have left the committee over the past few years.
- 3. Approve Jennifer Quinlan as Vice Chair to complete the term vacated by Michelle Danyluk and then to serve as Chair beginning August 2, 2020.
- 4. Approve Bobby Krishna to serve as Vice Chair begin- ning August 2, 2020.

**Next Meeting Date:** August 2–5, 2020, Cleveland, Ohio.

Meeting Adjourned: 11:35 a.m.

Chairperson: Jennifer Quinlan (Vice Chair).