Dairy Quality and Safety PDG

Names of Attendees: Nancy Huls (Chair), Wendy McMahon (Vice Chair), Sulaiman Aljasir, John Allan, Jose Almanza-Rubio, Justin Anast, Cindy Anderson, Claudio Andrade, Shaheen Banabeela, Katrien Begyn, Arpan Bhagat, David Blomquist, Neil Bogart, Alex Brandt, Meikel Brewster, Catharine Carlin, Pete Carothers, Luis Cervantes-Chaparro, Elaine Chiu, Andrea Cipriani, Larry Cohen, Claudia Coles, Roger Cook, Gregory Danzeisen, Jessica Danzeisen, Atin Datta, Alejandro Echeverry, Carianne Endert-Klaasen, Sarah Engstrom, Patrick Fach, Justin Falardeau, John Fam, Tim Freier, Gregory Fridman, Chad Galer, Alexandra Garcia, Randal Garrett, Kathleen Glass, Peggy Good, Josie Greve Peterson, Kevin Habas, Mohammad Ruzlan Habib, Ahmed Hammad, Xiaoxu Han, Melinda Hayman, Erin Headley, Joe Heinzelmann, Jessica Hofstetter, Katy Holzer, Kristen Houck, Xiaoping Huang, Brynn Husk, Thomas Junillon, Kerry Kaylegian, Kerry Kaylegian, Michelle Keener, Gene Marie Kennedy, Pete Kennedy, Amit Kheradia, Nicolas Kosa, Mark Kreul, Zachary Kuhl, David Legan, Vickie Lewandowski, Haiping Li, Cari Lingle, Ivonne Litwin, Sabrina Mace, Deon Mahoney, Yvonne Masters, Alejandro Mazzotta, Rachel McEgan, Susan McKnight, Minto Michael, Katie Moore, Sarah Murphy, Steve Murphy, Rosalind Neale, Obianuju Nsofor, Elvina Parlindungan, Xiaoyan Pei, Matt Petrash, Florence Postollec, Phylls Posy, Gale Prince, Terry Pruden, Christophe Quiring, Sarita Raengpradub Wheeler, Raj Rajagopal, Amy Rhodes, Brendan Ring, Allen Sayler, Kristin Schill, Brooke Schwartz, Girdhari Sharma, Arlette Shazer, Nilay Sheth, Steven Sims, Ben Somerton, Diana Spitznagel, Christina Stam, Tyler Stephens, Lang Sun, Christy Swoboda, Brad Taylor, Luke Thevenet, Clare Thorp, Brian Umberson, Vijay Vankar, Kirty Wadhawan, Stephen Walker, Dave Wankowski, Joyce Wert, E. Noelia Williams, Charon Willis, Sharon Wilson, and Season Xie.

Number of Attendees: 117.

Meeting Called to Order: 1:00 p.m., Sunday, July 21, 2019.

The Chair welcomed members, introduced the Vice Chair and Student Liaison, the Anti-Trust Guidelines were reviewed, and the 2018 meeting minutes were approved.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Sarah Murphy.

Old Business: No old business to discuss.

New Business:

- Nominations for the Secretary position.
- Roger Cook (Executive Board) in attendance (and recognized).
- Communications will now be through IAFP Connect.
- We shared the 2019 meeting programming with Dairy PDG sponsorship.
- Reviewed conference call dates and times.
- 2020 Dairy PDG program ideas were discussed.
 - a. Programming ideation:
 - 1. Interaction of foodborne pathogens with food microbiome.
 - 2. Latest research in culture-methods to detect

pathogens or surrogates for pathogens and rapid testing.

- 3. Listeria.
- 4. Water re-use and treatment in food plants.
- 5. Fluorocarbons in milk.
- 6. Data-driven quality management.
- 7. Safety aspects around raw milk products.
- 8. Translation of research to make applicable for small enterprises.
- Raj Rajagopal (3M Food Safety) and Catharine Carlin (Cornell University) presented on "Nonconfirming Molecular Pathogen Results."
- Announcements:
 - a. "Managing Microbiological Testing as a Preventive Control Verification Symposium" will be held Octo- ber 24, 2019 in Burr Ridge, IL.
 - b. 50th annual meeting Dairy Practices Council will be held on November 6–8th in Portland, ME.

Recommendations to the Executive Board: None.

Next Meeting Date: August 2-5, 2020, Cleveland,

Ohio. Meeting Adjourned: 2:40 p.m.

Chairperson: Nancy Huls.