Student PDG

Names of Attendees: Margaret Kirchner (Chair), Minh Duong (Vice Chair), Hiroki Abe, Jennifer Acuff, Emelia Adator, Seun Agbaje, Alberto Aguayo-Acosta, Nurul Ahmad, Sulaiman Aljasir, Abimbola Allison, Justin Anast, Kory Anderson, Brienna Anderson Coughlin, Sadiye Aras, Jeremy Arbon, Nicole Arnold, Pedro Arriaga Lorenzo, Jyoti Aryal, Lordwige Atis, Adam Baker, Charles Bashiru Bakin, Cameron Bardsley, Nicholas Barone, Katrien Begyn, Cara Boucher, Sheridan Brewer, Codi Broten, Stephanie Brown, Briana Burke, Shiyu Cai, Emily Campbell, Cameron Cason, Kaitlyn Casulli, Long Chen, Samuel Cimowsky, Sarah Cope, Sean Craig, Shani Craighead, Corinna Darelius, Taylor Davedow, Ahmed Dawadh, Christine Eckert, Kevin Edwards, Erika Estrada, Savana Everhart, Justin Falardeau, Melanie Firestone, Emily Forauer, Julia Fritschel, Oscar Galagarza Angulo, Diana Garcia, Samantha Gartley, Austin Gast, Catherine Gensler, Rachel Goeriz, Chase Golden, Carly Gomez, Vybhav Vipul Sudhir Gopisetty, Kristi Gowans, Gayathri Gunathilaka, Alan Gutierrez, Mohammad Ruzlan Habib, Alexis Hamilton, Eleanor Hanson, Jack Hodges, Leah Hohman, Lijun Hu,

Xiaoping Huang, Lauren Hudson, Daizy Hwang, Paul in't Veld, Abdoulie Jallow, Lee-Ann Jaykus, Michele Jay-Russell, Sarah Jones, John Jorgensen, Md Niamul Kabir, Shraddha Karanth, Shivaramu Keelara, Rochelle Keet, Alyssa Kelly, Annette Kenney, Karuna Kharel,

Donghyun Kim, Sally Klinect, Sakshi Lamba, Kristin Lane, Reece Larsen, Soon Kiat Lau, Holly Leung, Shenmiao Li, Ruo Fen Liao, Xiyang Liu, Ruiling Lv, Brittany Magdovitz, Stephanie Maggio, Carolina Mariano Ferraz, Claire Marik, Laurel Mcgonegle, Jessica Meisinger, Janny Mendoza Mencia, Jose Merino Mascorro, Hansel Mina,

Zahra Mohammad, Juan Moreira, Sarah Murphy, Shivasharanappa Nayakvadi, Rosalind Neale, Ismail Odetokun, Ismail Odetokun, Oladipupo Olatunde, Alexis Omar, Ruth Oni, Katie Overbey, Jinhwa Park, Kyung Min Park, Elvina Parlindungan, Katheryn Parraga-Estrada, Esa Puntch, Adam Quinn, Jaime Ragos, Yadwinder Singh Rana, Bhargavi Rane, Surabhi Rani, Alyxandra Reed, Forest Reichel, Joyjit Saha, Rodrigo Santibanez, Lester Schonberger, Dina Scott, Lang Sun, Cassandra Suther, Merlyn Thomas, Anna Townsend, Danielle Trudelle, Daniela Turcios, Tushar Verma, Kirty Wadhawan, Freya Wang, Peien Wang, Qiaochu Wang, Lisa Weddig, Xinyao Wei, Molly West, Chanelle White, Elizabeth White, Yumin Xu, Shiyun Yao, Mary Yavelak, Morgan Young, Yifan Zhang, Bingzhuo Zhao, and Luyao Zhao.

Number of Attendees: 153.

Meeting Called to Order: 10:00 a.m., Sunday, July 21, 2019.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Catherine Gensler.

Old Business:

Outgoing Chair Mary Yavelak, gave IAFP announcements and reviewed board recommendations from last year. Incoming PDG Chair Meg Kirchner acknowledged and thanked outgoing sPDG officers for their hard work this past year. A review of all sponsored and co-sponsored 2019 sessions and highlights of activities available for students was completed. Mary addressed student feedback from last year's meeting and encouraged students to talk to a PDG board member on ways we can better support students.

Lester Schoenberger reviewed the 2018–2019 sPDG Liaison program. The program has expanded to 22 PDGs and committees, facilitating direct mutual communication and support by assigning a student contact for the group to report back to our PDG throughout the year. Liaisons link the sPDG to other PDGs, facilitating symposia co-sponsorship, connecting students to PDG scholarships and events, as well as completing crucial PDG tasks and business.

The 2018–2019 mentoring program made 47 matches last year. This year, at the time of conference, 34 matches had been made and more are counting. Both students and mentors can still sign up to be matched at the student booth.

3-Minute Thesis competition committee received recognition for their hard work. The committee would like to thank those who volunteered as judges for both the online and live performances. There were many excellent video entries from which five finalists were selected to compete in live competition over lunch. Both the people's choice and the judges' winners will be announced at the student mixer on Tuesday, July 23rd, 2019.

New Business:

Representatives from the Seafood PDG gave a brief informational presentation about careers in their industry and shared advice regarding choosing a career or "Does a career choose you?" PDG discussed how it plans to utilize IAFP connect in parallel with emails. A survey about how the PDG will use the platform will be sent to members following the meeting. Students were encouraged to visit the newly redesigned student booth in the exhibit hall (Thank you, Tamara and the IAFP Board!) to purchase T-shirts and stickers, sign up for a mentor and talk with PDG officers. The meeting concluded with a review of roundtable and symposia guidelines and an ideation session for potential topics for symposia or roundtables.

Recommendations to the Executive Board:

We thank the Board for their responsiveness to our requests and their continued support of the Student PDG.

- 1. Recommend Minh Duong for Student Professional Development Group Vice Chair.
- 2. Recommend continuing a 2-hour PDG meeting length for next year's meeting.
- 3. Because of a successful presale we recommend to the Board that we order a larger quantity of T-shirts and continue to work closely with staff on distribution at the Annual Meeting.
- 4. We recommend an additional student board member position to the Student PDG officer board that would represent international students.

Next Meeting Date: August 2, 2020, Cleveland, Ohio.

Meeting Adjourned: 12:00 p.m., Sunday July 21, 2019.

Chairperson: Margaret Kirchner.