Microbial Modelling and Risk Analysis PDG

Attendees: Sofia Santillana Farakos (Chair), Abdullatif Tay (Vice Chair), Dimple Sharma, De'Anthony Morris, Abdullatif Tay, Yikai Yang, Panos Skandamis, Alejandro Mazzotta, Patricia Quinn, Gustavo Reyes, Minho Kim, Wan Zhan Lee, Gry Terrell, John Bassett, John Kotrola, Sampathkumar Balamurugan, Danielle Mayer, Sriya Sunil, Aljosa Trmcic, Marcel Zwietering, Kirk Dolan, Ashwini Wagh, Getahun Agga, Erdogan Ceylan, Arie Havelaar, Narindra Randriamiarintsoa, Barbara Kowalcyk, Juming Tang, Minji Hur, Subash Shrestha, Peter Bergholz, Andrew Kearney, Tyler Stump, Yawei Lin, Shige Koseki, Kento Koyama, Hiroki Abe, Hardik Vyas, Keith Ito, Shuyi Feng, Edmund Benefo, Charles Bakin, Laure Pujol, Emmanuel Onuoha, Mayra Marquez, Joshua Owade, Sarah Murphy, Cameron Parsons, Kristin Butler, Wilfredo Ocasio, Shirin Abd, Luca Cocolin, Heidy den Besten, Ian Hildebrandt, Alan Gutierrez, Charles Bency Appolon, Joelle Salazar, Hui Zeng, Diana Stewart, Philip Steinbrunner, Ingrid Zamora, Madison Goforth, Claudia Coronel-Aquilera, Shanice Krombeen, Jared Rivera, Deborah Briese, Marlee Mims, Hui-Erh Chai, Clare Narrod, Bet Wu Alvarado, Artistides Barahona Andrade, Darrell Donahue, Naveen Murthy, Angelica Godinez Oviedo, Zi Hua, Alex Puerta-Gomez, Manpreet Singh, James Barkley, Ariel Garsow, Cory Arant, Heather McLemore, Tracie Sheehan, Catherine Rolfe, Justyce Jedlicka, May Yeow, Julia Fukuba, Sanjana Laobangdisa, Christie Cheng, Angela Perdomo Reyes, Isabel Walls, Jiyoon Yi, Haknyeong Hong, Kristin Schill, Brendan Ring, Sejin Cheong.

Number of Attendees: 118.

Meeting Called to Order: 3:15 p.m. Eastern Time, July 31, 2022.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Abdullatif Tay.

Old Business: No issues were brought up related to old business.

New Business: Welcome and Agenda: Dr. Skandamis open the meeting with welcome message. Antitrust policy: Dr. Skandamis reminded that the PDG members must follow the Antitrust policy that restricts to discuss any trade secrets, price fixing, and all related items related to antitrust policy. Motion to adopt 2021 PDG Meeting minutes which is published on the IAFP website <u>MMRA 2021 PDG Meeting Minutes</u> Incoming Vice Chair Abdullatif Tay was introduced.

Updates from SRA: The presentation was postponed. **Predictive Microbiology "wikithon":** An update was provided by Dr. Isabel Walls. **ICPMF updates:** Dr. Skandamis provided the update on ICPMF. One slide: ICPMF. International conference will take place in Japan on 13-16 June 2023. Presented board members/past board members. **ISO Group Update 23691**: Determination and use of cardinal values. Dr. Skandamis provided an update the effort to harmonize the way cardinal values are being determined and provide examples on how to use. Harmonized protocol to determine and use cardinal values for growth for: T, pH, a_w, inhibitors, etc. Standard for bacteria and yeast, not mold. Reach out to Mariem Ellouze for feedback and suggestions.

Guest speaker presentation: Dr. Brendan Ring "AI in QMRA and food safety"

Student Poster Award presented

Chair explained the process and announced the awards, showing the certificates on-line. Students gave a 3-minute presentation: 2nd place: Gustavo Reyes, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (US): Evaluating product testing combined with other strategies for reducing risks from pre-harvest contamination of *E. coli* O157:H7 on generic leafy green produce using a farm to facility simulation. 1st place: Ali Strickland, University of Minnesota (US): Quantitative Risk Assessment of *Salmonella* in Ground Beef.

Symposia/roundtables accepted/rejected for 2022 Excel posted on IAFP Connect library of the community. Webinars and other communication activities Webinars listed and Future Webinars encouraged. Future symposia/roundtables/workshop proposals See addendum. Any other businesses/Dissemination activities.

Recommendations to the Executive Board:

1. Possibility of recording the future MMRA PDG meetings was recommended.

Next Meeting Date: Sunday, July 16, 2023, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Meeting Adjourned: 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time.

Chairperson: Sofia Santillana Farakos (Chair), Panos Skandamis (Outgoing Chair).