Register Now for IAFP 2015.

Register here!
IAFP History Timeline
100 Year Anniversary
Printer-friendly Printer-friendly  |  Printer-friendly Email-to-a-Friend

IAFP Announces 2011 Award Recipients

Thursday, May, 5, 2011

Des Moines, Iowa (May 5, 2011) - The International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) will present awards recognizing excellence in food safety to the following organizations and individuals at IAFP 2011, July 31-August 3 in  Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

The IAFP Fellow Award is awarded to professionals who have contributed to IAFP and its affiliates with distinction over an extended period of time. This year, Kathleen A. Glass, Food Research Institute, University of Wisconsin-Madison, will receive this honor.

O.D. "Pete" Cook, a long-time U.S. FDA employee, will be awarded the President's Lifetime Achievement Award posthumously. This award, given at the discretion of the IAFP President, recognizes an individual who has made a lasting impact on Advancing Food Safety Worldwide® through a lifetime of professional achievements in food protection.

The Honorary Life Membership Award will be presented to F. Ann Draughon, The University of Tennessee (retired), Jack Guzewich, U.S. FDA; Charles Price, U.S. FDA (retired); O. Peter Snyder, Jr., Hospitality Institute; and Ewen C.D. Todd, Ewen Todd Consulting. This award recognizes IAFP Members for their dedication to the high ideals and objectives of IAFP and for their service to the Association.

The Harry Haverland Citation Award will be awarded to Purnendu C. Vasavada, University of Wisconsin-River Falls, for his years of devotion to the ideals and objectives of the Association.

Food Marketing Institute and GS1 US will receive the Food Safety Innovation Award, given for creating the Rapid Recall ExchangeTM, a new practice that has had a positive impact on food safety, thus, improving public health and the quality of life.


The International Leadership Award will be presented to Patricia Desmarchelier, Food Safety Consultant, Brisbane, Australia, for her dedication to the high ideals and objectives of IAFP and for promotion of the mission of the Association in countries outside of the United States and Canada.


Edmund A. Zottola, Professor Emeritus, University of Minnesota, will receive the GMA Food Safety Award in recognition of a long history of outstanding contributions to food safety research and education.


The Frozen Food Foundation Freezing Research Award will be presented to Dennis R. Heldman, University of California-Davis. This award honors an individual, group, or organization for preeminence and outstanding contributions in research that impacts food safety attributes of freezing.

The Maurice Weber Laboratorian Award will be presented to Elliot T. Ryser, Michigan State University, East Lansing, to recognize his service for outstanding contributions in the laboratory and recognizing a commitment to the development of innovative and practical analytical approaches in support of food safety.

Manan Sharma, USDA-ARS, Beltsville, Maryland, will be presented the Larry Beuchat Young Researcher Award. This award is presented to a young researcher who has shown outstanding ability and professional promise in the early years of his/her career.


Randy L. Elsberry, FDA, Fresno, California, will receive the Sanitarian Award to recognize his dedication and exceptional service to the profession of sanitarian, serving the public and the food industry.

The Elmer Marth Educator Award will be presented to F. Xavier Malcata, College of Biotechnology, Porto, Portugal, to recognize his dedication and exceptional contributions to the profession of the educator.


Veny Gapud, Fieldale Farms Corporation, Baldwin, Georgia, is the recipient of the Harold Barnum Industry Award. This award recognizes her outstanding service to IAFP, the public, and the food industry.

Toronto Public Health, Toronto, Ontario, Canada, will receive the Samuel J. Crumbine Award for excellence and continual improvement in a comprehensive program of food protection at the local level.

About International Association for Food Protection

The International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) has more than 3,600 members who are food safety professionals committed to the high ideals of ensuring the safety of the world’s food supply. Association members include educators, government officials, microbiologists, food industry executives and quality control professionals who are involved in all aspects of growing, storing, transporting, processing and preparing all types of foods. The combined efforts of IAFP members throughout more than 70 countries help contribute to the association’s goal of Advancing Food Safety Worldwide®.

For more information, contact:

International Association for Food Protection
6200 Aurora Avenue, Suite 200W
Des Moines, IA 50322-2864 USA
Phone: +1 515.276.3344; +1 800.369.6337
Fax: +1 515.276.8655