## **Food Packaging PDG**

**Attendees:** Tony Jin (Chair), Tania Martinez (Vice Chair), Weilin Shelver, Alicia Ford, Gayatri Rajashekhar Dhulappanavar, Aaron Dudley, Tim Gillam, Tina Gettis, Jack Cooper, Susan Teegardin, Rosie Newsome, Jennifer Lott, Maryana Glavan, Joanna Griffiths, Xinhui Li, Lauren DiMenna, Jeannie Kim, Mario Leone, Jennifer Burke, Michelle Kotler, Bassam Annous, Shuopeng Yang, Xuetong Fan, Yifan Cheng, Deborah Hutchins, Frank Velez.

Number of Attendees: 28.

Meeting Called to Order: 3:15 p.m. Sunday July 31, 2022.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Tania Martinez.

Antitrust Statements from the IAFP were read by current Chair Tony Jin.

An IAFP Board Liaison was not able to make it to the meeting for an IAFP update. The update from board member' email was read by Tony.

A student liaison also updated information from student PDG.

The outgoing Chair Kimberly Yeager was not able to come to the meeting for health reasons. Tony, on behalf of all members, expressed attitude to her for her hard work for the past two years and wish she fully recovery soon.

Chair Tony Jin and Vice Chair Tania Martinez were introduced.

**Old Business**: Minutes from the last meeting held on June 30, 2021 are available at <a href="https://www.foodprotection.org/get-involved/professional-development-groups/food-packaging-pdg/">https://www.foodprotection.org/get-involved/professional-development-groups/food-packaging-pdg/</a>. No members objected to the acceptance of the meeting minutes from the meeting of June 30, 2021.

*IAFP Connect* Food Packaging PDG Community was mentioned again—and that *IAFP Connect* is the only means of communication among members of the PDG. The members were reminded that the group was given information last year by Tony about *IAFP Connect* and how to log in and access our community, and that this information would be shared again in the meeting minutes. (Link: <a href="https://connect.foodprotection.org/home;">https://connect.foodprotection.org/communities/community-</a>

home/digestviewer?communitykey=246716cf-70bf-459e-bd79-93aef8c33987&tab=digestviewer);

For our annual PDG meeting, we welcomed Jack Cooper, Executive Director for ADFPI, who gave a special presentation, regarding Improperly discarded plastic food packaging. Interest in this topic is high and there were a lot of discussion. The packaging sustainability and safety will be the main topics for 2023 Annual Meeting.

**New Business:** Packaging PDG Symposia/Roundtables selected for 2022 IAFP Meeting: None was accepted by IAFP for this year.

Discussions for innovative ideas were brought to the participants. The deadlines for the innovative ideas and submission for symposia, roundtables and workshops were informed to the participants. Tony also encourages members to submit proposals for webinar. 9 topics from last year and this year brainstorms were discussed among the participants. Currently, one roundtable and three symposia for 2023 Annual Meeting have been proposed and others will be followed late. The proposals are:

Roundtable: Leader: Jianna Griffiths. Topic: Best practices frameworks for evidencing sustainability in packaging.

Symposia proposal: Leader: Dr. Tania Martinez. Challenges with sustainability, environment and packaging materials around the world regarding food safety concerns for the US Market. Special Focus in a Comparative Approach between the main regulations worldwide compare to the US Federal and State regulations.

Symposia proposal: Leader: Yifan Cheng. Topic: Microplastics in foods

Symposia proposal: Tim Gillam. Topic: Legal regulations definitions around what is defined as recyclable, compostable around packaging made with alternative materials.

## **Recommendations to the Executive Board:**

- 1. Recommend appointment of Tony Jin as the new Chairperson of the Food Packaging PDG beginning at the 2022 Annual Meeting for a two-year term.
- 2. Recommend the appointment of Tania Martinez as the new Vice Chairperson of the Food Packaging PDG for a two-year term beginning at the 2022 Annual Meeting, and to then serve as Chairperson as a two-year term immediately following.

Next Meeting Date: July 16, 2023. Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Meeting Adjourned: 4:55 p.m. Eastern Time, Sunday, July 31, 2022.

Chairperson: Tony Jin.