Food Packaging PDG

Attendees: Tony, Jin (Chair), Akbar Bahrami, Brita Ball, Mariella Bustamante, Linyun Chen, Chia-Yang Chen, Guillaume Blanchet-Chouinard, Vanessa Cranford, Sebastian Cranford, Aakankshya Dhakal, Erin Ducko, Aaron Dudley, Sanjit Fernandes, Tony Flood, Baback Gharizadeh, Rebecca Hardeman, Amanda Martin Jones, Layal Karam, KarenLeacock, Naeem Mady, Todd Masche, Anne-Marie Masella, Rocio Nunez, Neal Saab, Elisa Guardado Servellon, Tracie Sheehan, Katherine Sierra, Sarah Smith-Simpson, Jacqueline Southee, Andrew Stephens, Helen Taylor, Evelyn Watts, Yidan Zhang.

Board/Staff Present: Timothy Jackson

Total Number of Attendees: 33.

Meeting Called to Order: Sunday, 3:15 p.m., July 26, 2023.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Aakankshya Dhakal.

The meeting of the Food Packaging PDG was called to order, and all attendees were welcomed by PDG Chair, Tony Jin.

Vice-Chair Tania Martinez was not able to attend the meeting due to personal reasons.

Old Business: Minutes from the last meeting held on June 30, 2022 are available at https://www.foodprotection.org/get-involved/professional-development-groups/food-packaging. No members objected to the acceptance of the meeting minutes.

An IAFP Board Liaison provided an IAFP update. Attendees were encouraged to download and update the IAFP Meeting app, report any technical issues to IAFP, and engage with the inclusion and diversity team. Timothy also highlighted the availability of testimony in the app and the success of a webinar during Food Safety Month. He mentioned the profile section in the app's career opportunity box and encouraged members to update their profiles. Other announcements included the Journal of Food Protection (JFP) being made open access.

Student PDG update was provided by Aakankshya Dhakal.

Chair Tony Jin highlighted the importance of IAFP Connect, the online community for the Food Packaging PDG. It was emphasized that IAFP Connect serves as the sole means of communication among PDG members. Attendees were provided information about IAFP Connect, including instructions on how to log in and access the community. It was noted that this information would be shared again in the meeting minutes for reference.

A special guest presentation was delivered by Andrew Stephens, Senior Policy Advisor at the USDA. The presentation focused on "Emerging Trends in Single Use Plastics and Sustainable Packaging Regulations." Several key points were discussed, including the importance of reusable packaging, concerns about landfill waste in the USA, sorting plastic by brand to draw attention to its impact, the carbon footprint of single-use plastics, and the influence of beach surveys in raising awareness. The concept of a circular economy and the need to reduce, reuse, and recycle were emphasized. Recycling rates, particularly for PET water bottles, were highlighted. The APR design guide and emerging regulations from the European packaging and packaging

waste regulation (PPWR) were also mentioned. The challenges and considerations of transitioning to

compostable biopolymer packaging were addressed.

New Business: The Packaging PDG Symposia/Roundtables for the 2022 IAFP Meeting were discussed. Four proposals were submitted, and one proposal titled "Food Safety and Packaging Sustainability: Protecting Our People and Our Planet," submitted by Nicole Tucker from the Food Packaging PDG, was accepted. Ideas for future symposia, roundtables, workshops, and abstracts were brainstormed, focusing on sustainability, active packaging, regulatory compliance, and food packaging materials regulations worldwide. The deadline for submitting symposium, roundtable, and workshop proposals for the IAFP Meeting was addressed. Tony also encouraged members to submit proposals for webinars. FP PDG chairs will be rotated next year. In October, an email will be sent out to initiate the nomination process for the incoming Vice-Chair position.

Recommendations to the Executive Board: None.

Next Meeting Date: July 14, 2024, Long Beach, California.

Meeting Adjourned: 4:55 pm Eastern Time, July 16, 2023.

Chairperson: Tony Jin.