## Food Protection Trends Management Committee

**Members Present:** Michelle Danyluk (Chair), David Golden, Gary Acuff, Walid Alali, Kristina Barlow, Richelle Beverly, Ben Chapman, Yuhuan Chen, Vanessa Cranford, Angie Fraser, Andy Hwang, Manpreet Singh, Jan Singleton, Michelle Smith, Kelly Stevens and Patricia Rule.

**Board/Staff Members Present:** Lee-Ann Jaykus, Katie Swanson, Donna Bahun, Lisa Hovey and David Tharp.

Outgoing Member Present: Mark Berrang.

Visitors/Guests: Jinru Chen and Amy Simmone.

Meeting Called to Order: 2:02 p.m., Sunday, July 31, 2011.

Recording Secretary of Minutes: Ben Chapman.

**Welcome:** Michelle Danyluk welcomed everyone to the meeting and all persons in attendance. All persons in attendance at the commencement of the meeting introduced themselves and their affiliation. Michelle reminded the group that the charge of the management committee is to guide the staff and Board on making decisions about the future of the *FPT* Journal.

Katie Swanson brought greetings from the Board:

- Record attendance.
- Great brand recognition, built on the back of the journals like FPT.
- Instruction of minutes and recommendations to the Board.
- Related to multiple conflicts could committee deal with a shorter time slot? Input to the board requested (Board recommendation below.)

**Membership:** Michelle Danyluk – Due to conflict of time with the Water PDG that she chairs, Susan McKnight has asked to be and has been removed from the Management Committee by the Board. Board has asked *FPT* Management Committee to recommend a replacement. Committee asked Pat Rule to stay on until 7-27-2013. (Board recommendation below.)

Gary Acuff motioned to accept the 2011 agenda seconded by Yuhuan Chen. Motion carried.

The 2010 minutes were approved by the Committee without amendments or corrections. Motion by Kelly Stevens; second by Pat Rule.

**New Vice Chair Election:** Michelle Danyluk indicated that Richelle Beverly had been nominated to be the new vice chair, progressing to chair term begins upon approval by Board. (Board recommendation below.)

**Executive Board Report:** Lee-Ann Jaykus provided a report indicating the success of the international programs in 2010/11. The membership numbers are currently at 3,600, up 12% over the past four years. The Web site has been very busy, over 14,000 visitors each month. Last year's annual meeting was a record breaker – expecting more than 2,500 attendees this year in Milwaukee. Lee-Ann spoke about the successful student PDG activities.

**Executive Director Report:** David Tharp was present; Lee-Ann reviewed successful financial year.

**Scientific Editor Report:** David Golden presented information related to the numbers, authorship and sources of manuscripts received to *FPT*. To date in 2011, 16 manuscripts have been submitted with 2 accepted, 2 rejected, and four under revision, 8 in review process. Most papers have been survey, extension and retail food safety-focused. Out of the 16 papers that have been submitted so far in 2011, one was "lab-based". Google scholar is now picking up *FPT* in its indices – confirmed by Michelle. Four out of 16 of this year's submissions came from

David's solicitation at the 2010 annual meeting after going through poster and technical sessions.

## **Old Business:**

Michelle Danyluk gave the status of the 2010 recommendations to the Executive Board:

1. Revise *FPT* Instructions for Authors to include the statement "manuscripts not formatted correctly may be rejected without review at the discretion of the Scientific Editor." Board Response: Agree. This has been done.

2. Restructure the online indexing (Table of Contents) of *FPT* articles to increase accessibility and link directly to article PDFs. Additionally, provide RSS feeds and email alerts to notify of *FPT* publication and make these alerts/abstracts publicly accessible. Board Response: IAFP staff will work to improve these systems. This has been done. 3. Upload historic *DFES* publications as searchable PDFs by keyword and author to the *FPT* Web site. Board Response: IAFP staff will work to improve these systems. In the short-term, if the Committee provides a list of specific articles of importance, IAFP staff will make them available first. **This has not been done and the recommendation will be made again (see below).** 

## **New Business:**

The committee discussed the reappointment of David Golden as Scientific Editor of *FPT*. Richelle Beverly moved that David be reappointed, Ben Chapman seconded. Motion passed. It was suggested to add a stipulation linked to IAFP-sponsored speakers to submit a paper to *FPT* following the Annual Meeting. This spurred a discussion about opinion pieces and paper that was recently rejected from *FPT* on the basis of excessive opinion. It was suggested that *FPT* authors should not be restrained by the "full length opinion articles will not be accepted for publication" policy and the committee needs to provide a framework and clearer guidance on how format and present lengthy evidence-based opinion pieces (such as NACMCF-type articles). These articles could be developed from roundtables and symposia in future programs and conveners would be solicited and guided prior to the meeting. The discussion also expanded into better defining the general interest piece guidance. Specifically, the committee discussed better definitions and example of acceptable lengthy opinion, general interest and review articles (and look to medical journals for format and style for expert opinion, call-to-action, best practice and educational pieces).

Pat Rule volunteered to lead a subcommittee to pull together the above guidance/framework and to solicit papers from roundtable/symposia accepted for 2012 as well as PDGs. This committee will also revisit actively soliciting graduate students' literature review articles.

Subcommittee members include: Pat Rule, Richelle Beverly, Jan Singleton, Vanessa Cranford, Ben Chapman, Walid Alali and Andy Hwang. Julian Cox is also a silent partner.

The subcommittee will set an initial date of January 15, 2012 to report back to the full committee.

Vanessa suggested that a profile of IAFP members (academic, industry, regulatory and students) and PDGs be included in *FPT* each month. Michelle appointed Manpreet Singh to chair a subcommittee to create a profile template and plan to solicit and publish these profiles. The subcommittee will provide draft templates (one for Members and one for PDGs) to Michelle by January 15, 2012.

The subcommittee members include: Kelly Stevens, Angie Fraser, Manpreet, Kristina Barlow and Michelle Smith.

Kristy Barlow suggested including the tag line on committee meeting schedule summary sheet that each committee and PDG meeting is open to all to attend. It was also suggested that a link be placed under each meeting that takes a reader to the PDG's webpage.

## **Recommendations to the Executive Board:**

- 1. Board to reappoint Pat Rule to replace Susan McKnight and serve on the committee through 7/27/2013.
- 2. Board to appoint Richelle Beverly as Vice Chair of *FPT* Management committee effective immediately.
- 3. Board to reappoint David Golden as Scientific Editor.
- 4. Board to keep *FPT* management meeting in its current slot (2:00 p.m. 4:00 p.m., Sunday afternoon) and for the current length of two hours.
- 5. Board to add tag line on committee meeting schedule summary sheet stating that each committee and PDG meeting is open to all to attend.

Next Meeting Date: July 22, 2012.

Meeting Adjourned: 3:47 p.m., motion made by Julian Cox.

Chairperson: Michelle Danyluk.