2017 Award Recipients



BLACK PEARL

Sponsored by F&H Food Equipment Company
Panda Restaurant Group, Inc.

FELLOW

Judy Greig Dale Grinstead Vijay Juneja Jeffrey Kornacki Don Schaffner

PRESIDENT'S LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT

Christine Bruhn

HONORARY LIFE MEMBERSHIP

David Blomquist Maria Teresa Destro Marilyn Lee John Sofos Katie Swanson

HARRY HAVERLAND CITATION

Sponsored by 3M Food Safety

Santos Garcia

FOOD SAFETY INNOVATION

Sponsored by Walmart

Novolyze

INTERNATIONAL LEADERSHIP

Sponsored by Cargill, Inc. George-John Nychas

GMA FOOD SAFETY

Sponsored by Grocery Manufacturers Association

Center for Food Safety Engineering and Department of Food Science Purdue University

FROZEN FOOD FOUNDATION FREEZING RESEARCH

Sponsored by the Frozen Food Foundation

Mark Harrison

FOOD SAFETY MAGAZINE DISTINGUISHED SERVICE

Sponsored by Food Safety Magazine

Reginald Bennett
Dane Bernard

MAURICE WEBER LABORATORIAN

Sponsored by Weber Scientific

Arun Bhunia

LARRY BEUCHAT YOUNG RESEARCHER

Sponsored by bioMérieux

Xiaonan Lu

EWEN C.D. TODD CONTROL OF FOODBORNE ILLNESS

Sponsored by Marler Clark Frank Bryan

SANITARIAN

Sponsored by Ecolab Inc.
Candace Jacobs

ELMER MARTH EDUCATOR

Sponsored by Nelson-Jameson, Inc.
Judy Harrison

HAROLD BARNUM INDUSTRY

Sponsored by Roka Bioscience, Inc.
Michael Roberson

TRAVEL AWARD FOR A FOOD SAFETY PROFESSIONAL IN A COUNTRY WITH A DEVELOPING ECONOMY

Sponsored by IAFP and the IAFP Foundation

Frederick Adzitey Alonzo Gabriel Patrick Njage

TRAVEL AWARD FOR STATE OR PROVINCIAL HEALTH OR AGRICULTURAL DEPARTMENT EMPLOYEES

Sponsored by IAFP and the IAFP Foundation
Ted Gatesy Michael Perry

STUDENT TRAVEL SCHOLARSHIP

Makala Bach

Sponsored by IAFP and the IAFP Foundation

Stephanie Barnes

Sarah Beno Sarah Cope **Dorothy Dupree** Hillary Kelbick Giannis Koukkidis Shuxiang Liu Itumeleng Matle Rianna Murray Rodney Owusu-Darko Laura Patterson Eugene Nivonzima Hao Pang Nicholas Sevart Kristen Saniga Aswathi Soni Constanza Vergara Sophie Tongyu Wu Xingning Xiao

PEANUT PROUD STUDENT SCHOLARSHIP

Sponsored by Peanut Proud Yagmur Yegin

J. MAC GEOPFERT DEVELOPING SCIENTISTS

Sponsored by the IAFP Foundation

To be determined

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT COMPETITION

Sponsored by the IAFP Foundation
To be determined

SAMUEL J. CRUMBINE

Sponsored by the Conference for Food Protection, in cooperation with American Academy of Sanitarians, American Public Health Association, Association of Food & Drug Officials, Food Marketing Institute, Foodservice Packaging Institute, International Association for Food Protection, National Association of County and City Health Officials, National Environmental Health Association, and NSF International

Boulder County Public Health Boulder, Colorado

Kansas City Health Department Kansas City, Missouri