Webinar Committee

Members Present: Veronica Bryant (Chair), Kaitlyn Casulli (Vice Chair), Claire Murphy, Don Schaffner, Douglas Marshall, Jim Nixon, Manan Sharma, Manpreet Singh, and Purnendu Vasavada.

New Members Present: Mary Anne Amalaradjou. Board/Staff Present: Tamara Ford and Dina Siedenburg.

Number of Attendees: 12.

Meeting Called to Order: 4:03 p.m. Eastern Time, Tuesday, June 1, 2021.

Approval of 2020 Minutes: Moved by Don, seconded by Doug, and unanimously accepted.

Board Update: There were no Board Members present to provide an update.

Review of Spreadsheet: The Committee reviewed the Webinar Report provided by staff which summarized 2020 and 2021 webinar dates, titles, sponsors, PDGs, speakers, moderators, registrant numbers, attendee numbers, percent of registrants attending and views of recordings (as of June 1, 2021). Trends showed high levels of participation during peak COVID-19 shutdown in 2020, but number of webinars and attendees is consistent otherwise.

Old Business: We continue to use information from the Program Committee to reach out to individuals who submit for Annual Meeting roundtables and symposia to ask if they want to present the information as a webinar.

Doug expressed concerns about judging the value of a webinar based on numbers and popularity. He said webinars provide an opportu- nity for niche topics to be presented.

The group discussed the amount of time webinars remain hosted. Tamara said that there were a few old webinars that are not supported because of flash player, but they are posted as MP4 files. The webinars remain posted for Membership to view indefinitely.

Mary Anne asked if Annual Meeting recordings are posted like we-binars. Don said that the posting of those is handled differently because they are only available to people who have paid to attend the Annual Meeting.

Continued discussion from last year about using webinars for

time-sensitive topics that can't wait for the Annual Meeting, or to use them for students to present or practice defending/research, like the 3-minute Thesis Competition.

Manan asked about making the webinars a regularly scheduled event, so that Membership knows webinars will always happen on the same day/time. Discussed that may be difficult with presenter and staff schedules.

New Business: Claire brought up the idea that Affiliates could be inter- ested in this platform, and that we should reach out to the Affiliate leaders about webinar opportunities. Don said that involving international affiliates would be a good idea as well. The group discussed the possibility of using recorded presentations from PDG meetings to combine into a webinar. Staff will look into it.

Manan volunteered to reach out to people who have submitted Annual Meeting abstracts that did not get approved to ask about webinars. Don thought this would be a good way to get additional Committee Members involved during the year. Don reminded that we should reach out to PDG chairs to remind them about webinars. Veronica agreed to send a message through IAFP Connect. There was discussion on what items require Board approval. Don said we don't need permission from the Board to send emails to PDG chairs. The Webinar Committee can request to the Board additional staff time may be needed if we want to combine PDG presentations recorded for a webinar.

Doug recommended students may want to present a literature review instead of a thesis topic. Don agreed. Mary Anne suggested high- lighting IFT Fellows or other members as webinars. Don suggested using Board members as people who may want to present in a webinar.

Group discussed ways to get additional Committee Members in- volved. Discussed maybe meeting more regularly than just once per year. Discussed meeting at the start of 2022 to see how webinars are going after the Annual Meeting. Don thanked Veronica and Kaitlyn for stepping into leadership roles and moved to adjourn the meeting.

Recommendations to the Executive Board:

1. Recommend approval of Kaitlyn Casulli as Vice Chair of the Webinar Committee.

Meeting Adjourned: 5:04 p.m. Eastern Time.

Chairperson: Veronica Bryant.