Food Defense PDG

Attendees: Neal Fredrickson (Chair), Kristin Schill (Vice Chair), Fred Soderstrom, Patricia Rule, Richard Jacobs, Daniel Bair, Rob Donofrio, Christina Wormald, Laura Howard, Joyce Wert, Amy Rhodes, Nitin Dhowlaghar, Raghu Ramaswamy, Patti Ross, William Lachowsky, Tania Martinez, Tony Jin, Romy Yu, Lauren DiMenna, Juhong Chen, Ryan Maus, Erin Ducko, Heather McLemore, Mark Kazmierczak, Jesse Miller, Hussein Mohamed, Tara Fandrich, Jessica Danzeisen, Enrique Zuniga, Kim Bingham, Joelle Williams, Tracey David, Marvin Mitchell, Jr., Deepa Thiagarajan, Manpreet Singh, Yvonne Masters, Shahram Ajamian, Amie Minor, Jacqueline Southee, Ahnna Schulte, Jennifer van de Ligt, Gale Prince, Carmen Cano, Brian Izdepski, Felix Osafo, Bet Wu Alvarado, Artistides Barahona Andrade, Robert Brackett, Kate Meck, Kolawole Banwo, Brian Perry, Susan Teegardin, Loralyn Ledenbach, Deon Mahoney, Anthony Pavic, Lucas Harrison, Paul Morin, Arlette Shazer, Varalakshmi Sudagar, Katie Swanson, Brendan Ring, Adejare Adegbuyi.

Number of Attendees: 62.

Meeting Called to Order: Sunday, July 31, 2022, 10:15 a.m. Eastern Time.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Christina Wormald.

Old Business: Neal Fredrickson reviewed the agenda and there were no additions or changes called for. Neal Fredrickson and Kristin Schill introduced themselves as chair and Vice Chair. Our agenda meeting minutes were approved by a motion submitted by Mark Kazmierczak. Next, Manpreet Singh, the incoming IAFP Secretary, addressed the attendees and provided an update from the Board, including a reminder that webinars are free to attend for all IAFP members and a call for membership for the newly formed IAFP diversity, equity, and inclusion council. Dr. Singh discussed the publication transition to Elsevier and passport requirements for next year's upcoming IAFP meeting in Toronto Canada. Neal Fredrickson then reviewed the anti-trust guidelines.

Neal Fredrickson reviewed the minutes from the 2021 Food Defense PDG meeting, and the minutes were approved by voice vote.

New Business: Neal Fredrickson and Kristin Schill were officially recommended and approved as Chair and Vice Chair. Gale Prince approved the motion and Mark Kazmierczak seconded the motion.

Next, Colin Barthel, FDA, provided an update of the status of implementation of the Intentional Adulteration (IA) Rule. In summary, the rule requires a food defense plan, and this plan follows a similar construct as a HACCP plan (analysis of risks, protection of the process, and managing those protections through a pre-planned strategy). This plan requires a vulnerability assessment, and training is required to be qualified to complete verification of this process. FSPCA training and awareness courses are free to access. Colin Barthel then introduced the Food Defense Plan Quick Checks that are currently being conducted (since August 2020) during scheduled food safety inspections for facilities that are subject to the IA rule, domestically and internationally. Visual inspection of facility's food defense plan for being complete, accurate, the presence of the vulnerability assessment, and a verification procedure will be conducted. Records will not be collected outside of the facility. Over 300 quick checks have taken place thus far. In the coming years, Food Defense Facility Assessments will take place at prioritized facilities by specially trained investigation staff. Training for the investigation staff is in development. Exemption from these rules will be conducted by state partners upon inspections of firms. In conclusion, findings from quick checks have determined that most firms recognize coverage status and have developed their food defense plans. Colin Barthel then asked the audience about their experience with Quick Checks and feedback was provided verbally.

Neal Fredrickson next led discussion of PDG communications, processes and resources. Neal Fredrickson shared *IAFP Connect* resources and tutorials for joining PDGs on *IAFP Connect*. Student Liaison Christina Wormald discussed student PDG opportunities for collaborations with Student PDG efforts.

Kristin Schill then discussed last year's proposals and this year's sessions. There are two symposia being held in 2022. The first symposium is entitled *Food Defense: Approaches to Risk Mitigation* on Monday August 1st at 3:45 p.m. in room 405, This symposium includes *The National Security Memorandum – Strengthening the Security and Resilience of United States Food and Agriculture across State, Local Tribal and Territorial and Private Sector Partners, <i>Protecting U.S. Agricultures at Border Crossings*, and *Food Supply Chains – how would Food*

Defense be Affected by African Swine Fever. The second symposium is entitled Cyber Attacks

on the Food Industry: Virtual Threats with Real Consequences at 1:30 p.m. in room 317-318.

This symposium includes The Cyber Risks to Food Manufacturing and Public Health, FBI

Support to the Food and Agriculture Sector on Cyber Threats, and How the Food and

Agriculture Industry is Collaborating on Cybersecurity.

The group then discussed potential session topics for IAFP 2023 in Toronto. Together, the PDG

came up with the following topics during the discussion: 1) Temporary Hires and Food Defense

Implications, 2) The HR Implications of Food Defense, 3) The Foreign Implications of IA: How to

make training opportunities and regulation information available around the world 4) Food

Defense for All: Curriculum discussion surrounding implementing IA into PC or other FDA

mandated curriculum Proposals are due October 4, 2022.

Kristin Schill suggested conducting more frequent meetings for the Food Defense PDG. The

audience voted and agreed upon quarterly meetings. Time periods will change to yield

participation from international members. Neal Fredrickson provided the members to self-

nominate as the Secretary of the Food Defense PDG for 2023.

Recommendations to the Executive Board:

1. Neal Fredrickson and Kristin Schill have been recognized and declared as Chair and Vice

Chair of the Food Defense PDG.

Next Meeting Date: July 13, 2023, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Meeting Adjourned: 12:00 p.m. Eastern Time, Sunday, July 31, 2022.

Chairperson: Neal Fredrickson.