Pre-Harvest Food Safety PDG

Members Present: Camila Rodrigues (Chair), Getahun Agga, Grace Akumu, Basim Alohali, Aadeya Arora, Adam Baker, Ronny Barrera, Deborah Briese, Robert Buchanan, Laurel Burall, Isabella Casas, Evan Chaney, Sejin Cheong, Atin Datta, Brenna DeRocili, Megan Dixon, Jorge Pinto Ferreira, Makenzie Flach, Yupawadee Galasong, Zhujun (Abby) Gao, Alberto Garre, Lisa Gorski, Eelco Heintz, Issmat Kassem, Kathy Knutson, Jeffrey LeJeune, Susan Leonard, Girvin Liggans, Nicolas Nguyen Van Long, Ben Miller, Ahmed El-Moghazy, Scott Moosekian, Claire Murphy, Kefang Nie, Jitu Patel, Jorge Quintanilla Portillo, Rodrigo Portillo, Alexander Prokup, Rawane Raad, Aishwarya Rao, Gustavo Reyes, Nadira Espinoza Rock, , Orhan Sahin, Robert Salter, Deepti Salvi, Nikki Shariat, Manan Sharma, Jared Smith, LaTaunya Tillman, Collin Timm, Phillip Tocco, Zeynal Topalcengiz, Brayan Montoya Torres, Ann Charles Vegdahl, Kaidi Wang, Xiaohong Wei, Zhenlei Xiao.

Board/Staff Present: Manan Sharma.

Attendees: 56.

Meeting Called to Order: 10:00 a.m., Sunday, July 16, 2023.

Minutes Recording Secretary: Rawane Raad-Student Liaison.

Old Business: For the upcoming 2023 annual meeting, the Pre-Harvest Food Safety PDG had 11 symposia and roundtables submitted as primary and secondary sponsors. Two successful programs were accepted as a primary and 4 other ones were accepted as secondary sponsors. Dr. Manan Sharma the secretary elect of IAFP presented a briefing update on the IAFP Board and Board announcements which included a call to download the IAFP 2023 meeting app and resync it. A reminder to check the video of the DEI council to learn what it has been doing. In June 2023, food safety month, IAFP has been offering free webinars that gained 9,000 views.

New Business: Dr. Jorge Pinto Ferreria presented updates regarding the role of Food Safety in the Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) including the FAO's meeting on Whole Genome Sequencing, FAO's expert meeting on alternative and advanced feed practices to promote responsible use of antimicrobials, the joint FAO/WHO expert committee on food additives (Published in 2023), the FAO's work on gender transformation initiative in Agri-food systems, supporting the implementation of codex standards on AMR, funding of the development of an InFARM data platform which works on collecting data of AMR in animals and AMU in plants, FAO's updates on Antimicrobials in Horticulture List, willingness to pay (WTP) project that includes how much more is the consumer willing to pay for food with less antibiotics (or without AMR) which started in US and will continue to Colombia. Finally, the SFVP: substandard and falsified veterinary products project.

Dr. Camila Rodrigues called to keep submitting symposium to the Pre-Harvest Food Safety PDG. The Deadline for next year is October 3, 2023. A zoom meeting is planned for August to discuss proposals,

webinars and roundtables ideas through the PDG. Deadline for abstract submission for IAFP 2024 is January 16, 2024.

Dr. Manan Sharma encouraged webinars and webinar development. Called to submit symposia as webinars. Called for members to sign up on committees (via the IAFP website). Reminded members to sign up for journal alerts. Called for mentors and mentees through the IAFP mentor program/IAFP connect). Reminded the members to check emails for IAFP updates. Reported that the number of IAFP Members is at the highest level that's ever been. Finally, Dr. Sharma will be the Pre-Harvest Food Safety PDG board liaison.

The student liaison talked about student PDG updates and called for scientists' involvement. Time left was open to questions for our speakers.

The Board called for nominations for the PDG vice chair position. Email Dr. Camila with a short bio for nomination.

Recommendations to the Executive Board:

1. The Board recommends Dr. Camila Rodrigues (Auburn University) to serve as the PDG chair for the next 2 years.

Next Meeting Date: July 14, 2023, Long Beach, California.

Meeting Adjourned: 11:03 a.m. Eastern Time.

Chairperson: Dr. Camila Rodrigues-Auburn University.