2010 Annual Meeting

August 1 – August 4 | Anaheim, California

IAFP 2010 was another successful meeting for the International Association for Food Protection. The three-day meeting concluded August 4, 2010 with a record-breaking international audience of more than 2,170 food safety professionals representing 49 countries, 47 states, and 5 Canadian provinces. The meeting has earned recognition as the leading food safety conference.

IAFP 2010’s Opening Session recognized five Fellow Award recipients and eight Student Travel Scholarship Award recipients. The Ivan Parkin Lecture followed, featuring Michael R. Taylor, Deputy Commissioner for Foods, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Washington, D.C. Mr. Taylor spoke on Improving Food Safety from Farm to Table: Fostering Prevention and Building Partnerships.”

The program featured 516 presentations including 39 symposia, 2 roundtables, 393 poster presentations, and 82 technical presentations. Wednesday afternoon’s John H. Silliker Lecture featured Dr. Robert L. Buchanan, Director and Professor, Center for Food Safety and Security Systems, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, speaking on “Understanding Foodborne Microorganisms, A Matter of Perspective.”

Wednesday night’s IAFP Awards Banquet honored excellence in food safety by recognizing 25 individuals and organizations with awards. The evening concluded with the gavel presentation to Incoming President, Dr. Lee-Ann Jaykus, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC.

Two pre-meeting workshops were conducted to provide additional educational opportunities for attendees. Representatives from a record 128 companies, including 38 new exhibitors, showcased equipment and the latest innovations in food safety services.

2010 Annual Meeting Resources