2013 Annual Meeting

July 28 – July 31 | Charlotte, North Carolina

IAFP 2013 was another successful meeting for the International Association for Food Protection. The three-day meeting concluded July 31, 2013 with a record-breaking international audience of more than 2,800 attendees representing 50 countries, 45 states, and five Canadian provinces. The meeting has earned recognition as the leading food safety conference.

 IAFP 2013’s Opening Session recognized one Fellow Award recipient, five Travel Award recipients
from State or Local Health or State Agricultural Departments and from a Developing Country, and
ten Student Travel Scholarship Award recipients. The Ivan Parkin Lecture followed, featuring
Dr. David W.K. Acheson, who is a Partner and the Managing Director for Food and Import Safety at Leavitt Partners LLC. Dr. Acheson spoke on “The Future of Food Safety.”

The program featured more than 850 presentations, including 41 symposia, 11 roundtables, 490 poster presentations, and 125 technical presentations. Representatives from a record 147 companies, including 32 new exhibitors, showcased equipment and the latest innovations in food safety services.

Special Guest Speaker Michael R. Taylor, Deputy Commissioner for Foods at the FDA, presented “Proposed FSMA Rules on Imported Food” on Wednesday afternoon. Later that day, the John H. Silliker Lecture featured Dane Bernard, Vice President of Food Safety and Quality Assurance for Keystone Foods LLC in Pennsylvania. Mr. Bernard spoke on “Food Safety Risk Management for a Multinational Company.”

Wednesday night’s Awards Banquet honored excellence in food safety by recognizing 27 individuals and organizations with awards. The evening concluded with the gavel presentation to Incoming President, Dr. Donald W. Schaffner, a Distinguished Professor in the Food Science Department at Rutgers University in New Jersey.

Click here for the Full Program

Post-meeting Information

Click here to view photos from IAFP 2013!

Registered attendees - Click here to access recordings. You must use your registration ID to access the recordings.

Non-attendees - Click here to access recordings for a fee ($150 for the entire meeting or $25 per individual presentation).

Click here to read session summaries of symposium and roundtable sessions, written by student session monitors.

Click here to read session summaries of technical sessions, written by student session monitors.

2013 Annual Meeting Resources