John H. Silliker Lecturer

The John H. Silliker Lecture was established by Silliker Inc. (now Merieux NutriSciences) in 2004 to recognize the achievements of Dr. Silliker through the practical application of scientific principles to improve food protection.  The John H. Silliker Lecture provides an avenue for recognized experts to present important and timely information on topics of significance to food protection at the IAFP Annual Meeting.

Dr. Silliker established Silliker Laboratories in 1967 and grew the network of laboratories to more than 70 locations in 18 countries.  Dr. Silliker was committed to making meaningful contributions to food safety outside the confines of his laboratory. He was an early proponent of the Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) system; developed the revolutionary concept of using sponges to collect environmental samples in food plants; and testified at congressional hearings that resulted in the passage of landmark food safety legislation.

The John H. Silliker Lecturer is selected by a committee including a representative from Merieux NutriSciences, the Program Committee Chairperson, and the IAFP President.

  • 2023 Recipient(s): Randy Huffmann

Past Awardees

  • 2022 Katherine M.J. Swanson
  • 2021 Barbara J. Masters
  • 2020 Peter K. Ben Embarek
  • 2019 Robert V. Tauxe
  • 2018 Ann Marie McNamara
  • 2017 Steve L. Taylor
  • 2016 Renata Clarke
  • 2015 Francis (Frank) F. Busta
  • 2014 Leon Gorris
  • 2013 Dane Bernard
  • 2012 Catherine Woteki
  • 2011 Jorgen Schlundt
  • 2010 Robert L. Buchanan
  • 2009 Patrick Wall
  • 2008 Michael P. Doyle
  • 2007 Terry A. Roberts
  • 2006 William H. Sperber
  • 2005 Michiel van Schothorst
  • 2004 R. Bruce Tompkin