Webinar Archive

Active IAFP Members can use our search below to find past webinars held by IAFP and IAFP’s Professional Development Groups (PDGs). Please note that all opinions and statements are those of the individual making the presentations and not necessarily the opinion or view of IAFP.

Webinar Access

You must have an active IAFP Membership to play the archived webinars in this section.

Archived Webinars

  • Journal of Food Protection (JFP) Open Forum

    Join Michelle Danyluk, President of IAFP and Panos Skandamis, the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Food Protection (JFP) for a conversation about JFP becoming an Open Access journal with Elsevier as its publisher.  How do you benefit whether you work in Academia, Government, or Industry?  Why is this important now?  What opportunities lie ahead?   Send us your comments, questions, and ideas.  This is your invitation to be part of JFP’s future.

    Schedule:
    Wednesday, February 1, 2023, 10:00 a.m. New York, 3:00 pm London, 5:00 Pretoria, 7:00 pm Dubai
    Tuesday, February 7, 2023, 8:30 am Delhi, 11:00 am Beijing, 4:00 pm Auckland

    Presenters
    • Michelle Danyluk IAFP Executive Board President
    • Panos Skandamis Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Food Protection (JFP)
  • A Comparison Between Manual and Automated Microbial Testing Methods

    Testing food and other products for microbial safety is a critical part of any safety program. Traditionally, this testing is done using manual techniques that can be laborious and time consuming. In addition, the techniques needed to conduct manual testing require considerable skill and experience and can be subject to human error. Consequently, it would be desirable to be able to automate these processes. However, the concern with automated methods is whether they give equivalent results to more traditional manual methods. This requires validation testing to show equivalency between manual and automated methods. This seminar will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of various manual and automated methods used in a microbial testing lab. In addition, a case study comparing manual and automated testing results will be discussed.

    Learning Objectives:
    •The automated solutions available for microbial testing
    •The differences and similarities between manual and automated microbial plate inoculation
    •The differences and similarities between manual and automated microbial plate colony counting
    •The added value of having automation for both inoculation and colony counting

    Presenters
    • Blanca Ruiz, Presenter University of Georgia
    • Brady Paul Carter, Moderator Neutec Group
  • Green Cards for Scientific Researchers: How to win your EB-1A/NIW Case

    Organized by: IAFP's Student Professional Development Group

    Brian Getson is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania Law School with 25 years of experience. He is a leading U.S. immigration lawyer who represents scientific researchers in applying for green cards and leads his immigration law firm based in Philadelphia. Mr. Getson has given presentations on "Green Cards for Scientific Researchers" at numerous major scientific conferences, the Wistar Institute, and at Universities. Mr. Getson often provides a money-back guarantee to qualified applicants giving clients confidence that they will get results.

    Learning Objectives:
    1. To gain some background visas such as EB-1 & NIW for international graduate students or postdoctoral scholars in the STEM area.
    2. To learn more about immigrant (permanent) or nonimmigrant (temporary) work visas based on achievement for scientific researchers.
    3. To learn how to effectively prepare and present evidence in support of a petition submitted to the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services

    Download Slides

    Presenters
    • Brian Getson, Presenter Getson & Schatz, P.C.
    • Minji Hur, Moderator University of Georgia